The List: The Not-So-Short List for Best Original Score


More of a reminder of what films were released this year, the 114 original scores will eventually be whittled down to five. Basically the who’s who of composing that we see every year, this year’s list has the big shots like Hans Zimmer considered for three different films (“12 Years A Slave”, “Man Of Steel”, “Rush”), John Williams for one (“The Book Thief”) and of course Howard Shore’s latest entry (“The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug”).  With “12 Years A Slave” making a beeline for Best Picture, expect to see Hans Zimmer grab that nomination spot. Also, on the flip side of that, “Gravity” will be in the Best Picture category as well, likely earning British composer Steven Price his first Oscar nomination ever. Then, with the usual suspects, like Alexandre Desplat, Danny Elfman, Thomas Newman, Henry Jackman, Cliff Martinez, and James Newton Howard, your guess for the final three are as good as mine. If you take the Golden Globes nominations into consideration, we’ll be seeing John Williams (“The Book Thief”), Alex Ebert (“All Is Lost”), and Alex Heffes (“Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom”) fill out the final three. Last year, they picked four out of the five nominations (minus “Cloud Atlas”) and even picked the winner (“Life Of Pi”). We’ll see if that holds true this year.

  • “Admission,” Stephen Trask
  • “Ain’t Them Bodies Saints,” Daniel Hart
  • “All Is Lost,” Alex Ebert
  • “Alone Yet Not Alone,” William Ross
  • “The Armstrong Lie,” David Kahne
  • “Arthur Newman,” Nick Urata
  • “At Any Price,” Dickon Hinchliffe
  • “Austenland,” Ilan Eshkeri
  • “Before Midnight,” Graham Reynolds
  • “The Best Man Holiday,” Stanley Clark
  • “The Book Thief,” John Williams
  • “The Butterfly’s Dream,” Rahman Altin
  • “The Call,” John Debney
  • “Captain Phillips,” Henry Jackman
  • “Closed Circuit,” Joby Talbot
  • “The Company You Keep,” Cliff Martinez
  • “The Conjuring,” Joseph Bishara
  • “Copperhead,” Laurent Eyquem
  • “The Counselor,” Daniel Pemberton
  • “The Croods,” Alan Silvestri
  • “Despicable Me 2,” Heitor Pereira
  • “Elysium,” Ryan Amon
  • “Ender’s Game,” Steve Jablonsky
  • “Enough Said,” Marcelo Zarvos
  • “Epic,” Danny Elfman
  • “Ernest & Celestine,” Vincent Courtois
  • “Escape from Planet Earth,” Aaron Zigman
  • “Escape from Tomorrow,” Abel Korzeniowski
  • “Evil Dead,” Roque Baños
  • “47 Ronin,” Ilan Eshkeri
  • “42,” Mark Isham
  • “Free Birds,” Dominic Lewis
  • “Free China: The Courage to Believe,” Tony Chen
  • “Fruitvale Station,” Ludwig Goransson
  • “G.I. Joe: Retaliation,” Henry Jackman
  • “Gangster Squad,” Steve Jablonsky
  • “Gravity,” Steven Price
  • “The Great Gatsby,” Craig Armstrong
  • “The Hangover Part III,” Christophe Beck
  • “Hansel & Gretel Witch Hunters,” Atli Örvarsson
  • “Haute Cuisine,” Gabriel Yared
  • “Her,” William Butler and Owen Pallett
  • “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug,” Howard Shore
  • “Hollywood Seagull,” Evgeny Shchukin
  • “Hours,” Benjamin Wallfisch
  • “How Sweet It Is,” Matt Dahan
  • “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire,” James Newton Howard
  • “Identity Thief,” Christopher Lennertz
  • “The Incredible Burt Wonderstone,” Lyle Workman
  • “Insidious: Chapter 2,” Joseph Bishara
  • “Instructions Not Included,” Carlo Siliotto
  • “The Internship,” Christophe Beck
  • “The Invisible Woman,” Ilan Eshkeri
  • “Iron Man 3,” Brian Tyler
  • “Jack the Giant Slayer,” John Ottman
  • “Jobs,” John Debney
  • “Kamasutra 3D,” Sreejith Edavana and Saachin Raj Chelory
  • “Labor Day,” Rolfe Kent
  • “Lee Daniels’ The Butler,” Rodrigo Leão
  • “Live at the Foxes Den,” Jack Holmes
  • “Love Is All You Need,” Johan Söderqvist
  • “Mama,” Fernando Velázquez
  • “Man of Steel,” Hans Zimmer
  • “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom,” Alex Heffes
  • “The Missing Picture,” Marc Marder
  • “Monsters University,” Randy Newman
  • “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones,” Atli Örvarsson
  • “Mud,” David Wingo
  • “Murph: The Protector,” Chris Irwin and Jeff Widenhofer
  • “Now You See Me,” Brian Tyler
  • “Oblivion,” Anthony Gonzalez and Joseph Trapanese
  • “Oldboy,” Roque Baños
  • “Olympus Has Fallen,” Trevor Morris
  • “Oz The Great and Powerful,” Danny Elfman
  • “Pacific Rim,” Ramin Djawad
  • “Pain & Gain,” Steve Jablonsky
  • “Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters,” Andrew Lockington
  • “Philomena,” Alexandre Desplat
  • “The Place beyond the Pines,” Mike Patton
  • “Planes,” Mark Mancina
  • “Prisoners,” Jóhann Jóhannsson
  • “R.I.P.D.,” Christophe Beck
  • “Reaching for the Moon,” Marcelo Zarvos
  • “Romeo & Juliet,” Abel Korzeniowski
  • “Runner Runner,” Christophe Beck
  • “Rush,” Hans Zimmer
  • “Safe Haven,” Deborah Lurie
  • “Salinger,” Lorne Balfe
  • “Saving Mr. Banks,” Thomas Newman
  • “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty,” Theodore Shapiro
  • “Short Term 12,” Joel P. West
  • “Side Effects,” Thomas Newman
  • “The Smurfs 2,” Heitor Pereira
  • “The Spectacular Now,” Rob Simonsen
  • “Star Trek Into Darkness,” Michael Giacchino
  • “Stoker,” Clint Mansell
  • “Thor: The Dark World,” Brian Tyler
  • “Tim’s Vermeer,” Conrad Pope
  • “Trance,” Rick Smith
  • “Turbo,” Henry Jackman
  • “12 Years a Slave,” Hans Zimmer
  • “2 Guns,” Clinton Shorter
  • “The Ultimate Life,” Mark McKenzie
  • “Unfinished Song,” Laura Rossi
  • “Wadjda,” Max Richter
  • “Walking with Dinosaurs,” Paul Leonard-Morgan
  • “Warm Bodies,” Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders
  • “We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks,” Will Bates
  • “We’re the Millers,” Theodore Shapiro and Ludwig Goransson
  • “What Maisie Knew,” Nick Urata
  • “Why We Ride,” Steven Gutheinz
  • “The Wind Rises,” Joe Hisaishi
  • “Winnie Mandela,” Laurent Eyquem
  • “The Wolverine,” Marco Beltrami

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s