Five of these live action shorts will be picked from the current pool of 10, most of which come from different countries other than America. The final five will be screened in theaters in the Oscar Shorts series that is presented most years. Last year’s winner was “The Phone Call,” which starred Sally Hawkins and Jim Broadbent.

  • “Ave Maria,” Basil Khalil (Incognito Films)
  • “Bad Hunter,” Sahim Omar Kalifa (A Private View)
  • “Bis Gleich (Till Then),” Philippe Brenninkmeyer (avenueROAD Films)
  • “Contrapelo (Against the Grain),” Gareth Dunnet-Alcocer (Ochenta y Cinco Films)
  • “Day One,” Henry Hughes (American Film Institute)
  • “Everything Will Be Okay (Alles Wird Gut),” Patrick Vollrath (Filmakademie Wien)
  • “The Free Man (Zi You Ren),” Quah Boon-Lip (Taipei National University of the Arts)
  • “Shok,” Jamie Donoughue (Eagle Eye Films)
  • “Stutterer,” Benjamin Cleary  (Bare Golly Films)
  • “Winter Light,” Julian Higgins (Innerlight Films and Prelude Pictures)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s